AstroFest in London! Who’s going?

European AstroFest 2013

In a few weeks, AstroFest will here! This will be my first Astronomy conference, ever. I’m OVER THE MOON with excitement. Okay, that was bad, my apologies…

Bad puns aside, over the last month I’ve been voraciously devouring astronomy at a vigorous pace. Once I get going it is hard to let go. Astronomy NOW, BBC and National Geographic have all written fantastic articles. I’ve spread my research with both print and online (thanks Twitter!). I’m feeling engaged and focused!

Is anyone else attending? I’m going to visit all sessions. I just hope to have enough time to walk the floor and look at telescopes. I’m still a complete newbie, but I hope to find good advice for amateurs. My plan is to pay off all my debt and look into purchasing one late this year. I’ll be asking loads of questions at the conference, too. After all, when else do you get the opportunity to speak with some of the most brilliant minds in astronomy?!

263250-stargazers-almanac-2013I recently purchased the Stargazers 2013 Almanac. We have it hanging in our living room next to our large window, where we can see the North sky fairly vividly. Of course, the weather has been cloudy lately from all the snow (see previous post!) so it hasn’t been used QUITE as much as I hoped, but it’s a very informative and fun read. I also liked that Ethical Superstore has them on clearance right now, on the cheap! I do love finding a bargin.

Are there any astronomy events you’re looking forward to? I’ve also heard about some local astronomy camping adventures in the Brecon Beacons, in Wales. I’m sincerely interested, but having a difficult time convincing anyone else to join me in some camping adventures!

2 Replies to “AstroFest in London! Who’s going?”

  1. I’ve been to all but one of the London Astrofests, the first one was in about 1993. Just the afternoon session on the Friday for me. The Alan Chapman sessions are always very good. I. Not sure if he is presenting this year though.

    1. Thanks Paul! I’m excited. The astronomy community is very welcoming, I’ll have to see about any Midlands activities. Alan Chapman is Saturday afternoon, I’ll be sure to make it. It looks like tickets are sold out on Saturday. Has AstroFest grown considerably over the years?

Leave a Reply

