Operation Stay Motivated. How do you combat fatigue?

pic
Story of my LIFE.

I work 40+ hours every week. After my commute, I cook dinner, clean and watch my favourite television shows. Sometimes, I mix it up. I’ll throw on work out clothes and shake my booty with body combat or yoga at Nuffield gym. Yet without fail at the end of the day, especially lately from winter, all I want to do is decompress, curl up in my jammies and spend time at home. And that’s when the fatigues kick in …

How the HELL do people stay motivated to write?! Even without a family, I’m struggling! I want to pick people’s brains here. Surely, I’m not the only person to feel overwhelming fatigue after work all the time.ย In the next some odd months the boy and I would like to purchase a home and have our own family. WHAT THEN??

And forget about trying to take a day off. Oh no. Even when I try to relax I’m plagued with overwhelming guilt! My brain goes into overdriving and wants me to make up for the lost time. Damned if I do, damned if I don’t. Why in the hell do creative minds have so much angst?

I’m curious how WordPress peeps in the writing community manage. Do you make specific time each morning, evening or weekends? Do you tell people to leave you alone, hole yourself up with some food and whiskey, and just write write write. Are you between jobs and decided to write out of boredom? Is it a hobby you do for fun, or are you trying to make a career out of it? What is the method to your madness??

I remember one story in particular that resonated with me personally. This lady would wake up at 4 or 5 AM to write each morning before her normal warehouse job. One day, she happened to mention to her supervisor her plans to be a writer and he, of course, chastised her for being stupid/silly and that her writing wouldn’t amount to anything. Writing was too damn hard. Of course she did amount to something, a very big something, as SHE is actually Kate DiCamillo, an award winning children’s fiction author. Stories like that give me hope. And help quell the critic in my head. Maybe I should print that out and post it on a bulletin board in my room whenever the fatigue and self-criticism begin to creep in.

I have the want and drive. Yet having two full-time jobs is draining and socially ostracizing. I’ve been known to blow off events so I can stay home and “do a bit of writing.” Some times it’s for the physically draining job. Other times it’s for fun or freelance gigs. Not a surprise, I like the freelance gigs sooo much more ๐Ÿ™‚

Until then, I’ll keep fighting my writing evening fatigue. Maybe I should start rewarding myself with a glass of wine and dark chocolate…

Mmmm…chocolate…

6 Replies to “Operation Stay Motivated. How do you combat fatigue?”

  1. I keep a notebook handy and jot down ideas throughout the day. Then I find time every night to write. Gotta get those ideas out of my head to clear room for new ones. Can I have chocolate now? ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. You deserve a chocolate and a handshake! ๐Ÿ™‚

      I like the notebook idea. I use to keep one next to my bed to write in at night and in the morning. There is definitely nothing more frustrating having a cool idea, getting distracted, then having it disappear! ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. My wallet it also filled with sticky notes on which I’ve scribbled down story ideas during the day when my notebook isn’t handy. Write them all down!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll take that chocolate now…

  2. I like it!! I’ve found that I try to write (when I have a free moment) at work in my extra notebook or in Word. But, I don’t bring that stuff home with me. Huge problem when I’m brain dead in the evening.

    Aaaah! I guess I should have brought more chocolates back with me from Belgium ๐Ÿ˜‰ Lesson learned…

  3. Kassie, you should read “The War of Art” by Steven Pressfield. It’s a fast read and reallyt motivational for anyone who has ambitions of any sort, but especially creative ones. I have faith in you girl. Also, it does matter if you have one hour or 10 to write, it is always going to be a challenge to sit down and organize your thoughts. Writing is hard, full stop. Luckily you’re good at it, so that’s a little of the pressure off.

    1. Thanks lady, you’re wonderful! I feel a bit of a brain drain right now because work is consuming my entire life. I hate it. I really, really can’t stand it. xoxo

Leave a Reply

